Pharmacy profession in India: present status and future challenges (International Webinar Series Lecture-II)

International Webinar Series Lecture-II on "Future of pharmacy profession in India: present status and future challenges" to be delivered by Prof. B. Suresh, President, Pharmacy Council of India and Pro-Chancellor, JSS Academy of Higher Education and Research, Mysuru on July 14th, 2020 at 11 am. Register in advance for this webinar at:

Register in advance for this webinar at:

Prof Suresh Bhojraj assumed charge as Pro-Chancellor, JSS Academy of Higher Education and Research, Mysuru in June 2019. Dr B Suresh was the founding Vice Chancellor of JSS Academy of Higher Education & Research, Mysuru, a Deemed University and held the post between 2008 - 2011. With the arduous task of nurturing and building a young university, with his vast experience in university governance systems, he started putting in place strategies that will ensure the university to emerge as a pre-eminent university in the nation and elsewhere. He nurtured the deemed university to scale great heights in a short span of time and was successful in helping the university be ranked 34th nationally by the NIRF , MHRD (2019), ranked Number 1 by the Karnataka State University Ranking Framework (KSURF 2017) under the young university category and obtaining NAAC ' A +' grade with a CGPA of 3.48 out of 4.0. He broke all records by making JSS Academy of Higher Education research be ranked among the top 500 universities of the world by Times Higher Education ranking 2019, becoming the first Deemed University in India to set this record. The university was able to forge several national and international collaborations under his leadership and has been receiving national and international recognition for the efforts in nurturing interdisciplinary research in Medical education. He is also the Director of the JSS Education Foundation Private Ltd, the international arm of JSS Institutions that has established institutions in Dubai and Mauritius. Dr B Suresh has distinguished himself as an eminent educationist, pharmacist and a leader. He was elected in 2003 as the President of Pharmacy Council of India, the statutory body regulating the pharmacy education and profession in India. He was once again re-elected as the President of Pharmacy Council of India in August 2008 and in August 2013 and broke all records by winning the PCI Presidentship for the fourth time and has the unique honour being elected four times to this leadership position. He was also the Chairman of the Scientific Body of Indian Pharmacopoeia Commission (2012 -2017) which is responsible for setting of standards for pharmaceutical substances and formulations. The Leadership provided by Dr B Suresh at the Pharmacy Council of India has resulted in bringing about a paradigm shift in Pharmacy Education and Profession in India. The council had been able to bring out several pathbreaking regulations that helped enhance the standards and quality of Pharmacy Education and Profession in the country. He pioneered the cause of promoting “Pharmacy Practice” concept in India and has the unique honour of having introduced postgraduate programme in “Pharmacy Practice” and “Pharm D” programmes in India and continues to strive to uplift this facet of pharmacy profession by closely working with other global leaders. Dr Suresh is also the delegate member of the United States Pharmacopeia Convention, USA and International commissioner of Accreditation Council of Pharmacy Education, ACPE, USA. He is also the Executive Member of the Commonwealth Pharmacists Association (CPA). The Scientific committee on problems of the Environment (SCOPE) which is a part of the International council for Science and works closely with UN organisations such as UNESCO and UNEP, has elected Dr Suresh as is executive committee member. He was also the past President of Asian Association of Schools of Pharmacy and Chairman of the Education Section of the Federation of Asian Pharmaceutical Association. He is the past President of the Indian Pharmaceutical Association and was responsible for the drafting of Pharmavision 2020 that was launched by Dr APJ Abdul Kalam, the late President of India, in the year 2008. Dr Suresh has to his credit several national and International publications and has been invited to several national and international platforms as a Keynote speaker and deliver orations. He has to his credit of having organized several national and international meetings and conferences in India and elsewhere and had spearheaded the organizing of the World Congress of Pharmaceutical Sciences 2011, 71st International Congress of FIP. He has actively involved himself with the education initiatives of FIP and been an active member of FIP Pharmacy Education Task Force. In recognition of his invaluable services in the field of pharmaceutical education, he is a recipient of several national and international awards and to mention in particular the FAPA Ishidate Award–2004 (International Award) and Doctor of Science (D.Sc.,) Honoris Causa conferred by The Tamil Nadu Dr MGR Medical University, Chennai in 2007 and by the Rani Durgavathi Vishwavidyalaya, Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh in 2012. Dr B. Suresh is also the recipient of the prestigious ' Eminent Pharmacist Award' of the Indian Pharmaceutical association, the 'ML Shroff award' of the Indian Hospital Pharmacists Association and the 'KC Chatterjee award' of the Indian Pharmacy Graduates Association and the Fellowship of the Commonwealth Pharmacists Association.

  • Event Date: 14-Jul-2020
  • Venue: UGC-HRDC, University of Kashmir
  • File: View